The Governing Body

S. Anandalakshmy
President of Barefoot College

Advisor on Child development and education based in Chennai, educated at Madras University, Bryn Mawr College and the University of Wisconsin, she has established and headed Vidya Mandir Chennai, a school promoting creative and non-competitive learning. She was the Director of Lady Irwin College from 1983-1991. She has been a member of the GB of SWRC (Barefoot College) since 1983.

Lalit Mathur

Former Civil Servant – 1968 IAS. Studied mathematics in St. Stephens College, Delhi University. He was in the Andhra Pradesh cadre and worked with a team of committed pro poor Civil Servants in AP, including the late Mr. S.R.Sankaran. He was Director General CAPART and retired as Director General, NIRD. He continues to be engaged with MGNREGA in UP and Jharkhand.

Yogendra Dhurlabhji

He heads the Santokba Durlabhji Memorial Hospital. He studied in St. Stephens College Delhi and has an avid interest in sports. He is now dedicated to providing excellent health care and also facilitates outreach health camps and programmes, like the one with Barefoot College.

S. Srinivasan

S. Srinivasan with a postgraduate degree in Pediatrics from MAMC, Delhi is an alumnus of the Barefoot College. He worked with the health section from 1979 to 1982. He has established a reputation for being a people’s doctor in Delhi and is well known for his charitable work.

Pushpito K. Ghosh

Pushpito K. Ghosh Director of Central Salt and Marine Chemical Research Institute has been a part of the Tilonia family since 1972. He specially designed and fabricated a one of a kind Solar Powered Reverse Osmosis Water Plant that has been a landmark contribution to our Barefoot communities.

Click here for a list of Past Governing Body Members